Naples is, like Italy, pretty hard to figure out for those who don’t live in it.

After Gomorrah was published, and the city ended up on the news worldwide because of it’s gargabe scandals, Naples has been put under the international spotlight, casting a widespread shadow on it’s already stereotypical image made of pizza and pulcinella.

Neapolitans, and in general people from the area, when asked about it, often lose their patient; they are botherd by how people seem surprised about all this, and by how journalists and writers talk about their daily lives as if they did not know it has always been like that.

Lots of Neapolitans consider themselves survivors, re-affirming it on a daily basis through their everyday life.

Me being me, I love these kind of things. Hanging out with some friends from Naples, the subject quickly went to these topics, until we got stuck on trying to define what make Naples and the Neapolitans different from other Italians.

This is what came out of it.

Not a definition, because it is not what I go around looking for, but a point of view.

P.s.- In order to make this video accessible to everybody, I had to learn how to subtitle videos. It’s was my first time, and it took me pretty much a whole day. If it not the best subtitling you have ever experienced, be nice and patient, and forgive me. I’m learning.

